Star Wallaby rested, two debutants into squad

Star Wallaby rested, two debutants into squad

Australia have included two uncapped players in a 30-man squad for Rugby Championship Tests against South Africa and Argentina.

Hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau is being rested by Australia for Rugby Championship Tests in South Africa and England.

MORE:  Cheika pleased with improving Wallabies

As Polota-Nau sits out, two uncapped players – Melbourne Rebels' Sefa Naivalu and Waratahs' Tolu Latu – have been named in the 30-man squad.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika is already lamenting the absence of Polota-Nau for the matches against the Springboks and Argentina in October.

Wing Drew Mitchell is returning to France to continue the Top 14 season with Toulon, while Ben McCalman is also out.

"It is disappointing for Tatafu, who has been one of the most consistent and valued members of our finishers off the bench, he needs time to get his body right and we respect that," Cheika said.

"We're happy with how Drew and Ben are progressing. The best thing for both players is to play some regular rugby to get themselves back to full form and fitness.

"With injury comes opportunity, and this is the opportunity now for Tolu to make his step up to international rugby.

"All our newly capped players this season have taken their chances with both hands and I expect Tolu to do the same, which should give all our fans confidence in the future."

Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa has been included after overcoming a knee injury, while Queensland Reds' Nick Frisby is also back in the squad.

The Wallabies are second in the Rugby Championship table with two wins from four games, ahead of facing South Africa (in Pretoria) on October 1 and Argentina (in London) a week later.


Australia squad in full: Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies), Rory Arnold (Brumbies), Adam Coleman (Force), Quade Cooper (Reds), Kane Douglas (Reds), Scott Fardy (Brumbies), Israel Folau (Waratahs), Bernard Foley (Waratahs), Nick Frisby (Reds), Will Genia (Stade Francais), James Hanson (Rebels), Dane Haylett-Petty (Force), Reece Hodge (Rebels), Michael Hooper (Waratahs), Sekope Kepu (Waratahs), Samu Kerevi (Reds), Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies), Tolu Latu (Waratahs), Sean McMahon (Rebels), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Luke Morahan (Force), Dean Mumm (Waratahs), Sefanaia Naivalu (Rebels), Nick Phipps (Waratahs), Tom Robertson (Waratahs), Rob Simmons (Reds), Scott Sio (Brumbies), James Slipper (Reds), Henry Speight (Brumbies), Lopeti Timani (Rebels)

Share this article


Latest stories


How close Messi came to playing for Real Madrid not Barcelona


Gavrilova loses epic, Barty through to semi-finals at Aegon Classic


Record-breaking Sanchez not enough as Chile held by Germany

A League

Melbourne City appoint former Wigan and United coach


Cristiano Ronaldo avoids the media as speculation about his future intensifies


No time for myths as Australia face hard reality against Germany


WATCH: VAR controversy mars Chile's win over Cameroon


Inspired Pakistan pummel India to win Champions Trophy


Haka world record smashed in New Zealand


Rampant Lions make big statement with record win over Maoris

Former UFC champion hospitalised after colliding with train


U.S. Open 2017: World's top three all miss cut at Erin Hills

Back to Top